- What the Certification Actually Is
- Analyst vs. Architect: A Naming Wrinkle
- The Two Courses Behind the Credential
- Persuasion Concepts You Need to Know Cold
- How the Exam Is Structured
- Cost, Registration, and Retakes
- Eligibility and Prerequisites
- Who Benefits From This Credential
- What Is Not Publicly Verified
- A CDPA-Specific Study Sequence
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CDPA here means Certified Digital Persuasion Analyst, issued through Human Factors International (HFI Training).
- Preparation maps to two HFI courses: Persuasion, Emotion and Trust in Design, and The PET Architect.
- The legacy exam-only page lists USD 475, one free retake within six months, and no prerequisites.
- Assessment includes multiple-choice plus application/essay questions; the badge needs at least 70% on multiple choice and passing essays.
What the Certification Actually Is
The Certified Digital Persuasion Analyst credential is offered by Human Factors International through HFI Training. It certifies that a practitioner can analyze and design digital experiences using the discipline HFI calls PET: Persuasion, Emotion, and Trust. Rather than testing general marketing knowledge or abstract psychology, the credential is anchored to a specific body of method: how to evaluate a site for persuasive and emotional effectiveness, how to build personas that probe those factors, and how to construct persuasion flows that move users toward conversion.
If you have landed here from a search for the acronym, note that several unrelated credentials share the letters CDPA. This article covers only the HFI credential. For a quick disambiguation of the acronym itself, see our explainers on what CDPA stands for and the meaning of CDPA.
Analyst vs. Architect: A Naming Wrinkle
One thing that trips up candidates is terminology. HFI's certification and /cdpa/ pages name the credential Certified Digital Persuasion Analyst. Other HFI program materials use Certified Digital Persuasion Architect. No formal renaming date has been established, and the exact current examination equivalence between the two labels has not been verified.
The Two Courses Behind the Credential
The Analyst certification page links its assessment to two HFI courses. They serve as the only reliable organizing structure for preparation, and they are unweighted course categories rather than official weighted exam domains. For a deeper walk-through of how to treat them, see our CDPA exam domains guide.
Domain 1: How to Design for Persuasion, Emotion, and Trust (PET Design)
This course is the applied-methods foundation. HFI's published learning outcomes include:
- Applying core methods and tools for persuasive and emotional design, including creating a persuasion strategy
- Evaluating sites on the basis of persuasion, emotion, and trust
- Using PET Design markers to identify persuasion, emotion, or trust elements in your own prototypes or designs
- Integrating PET-related requirements into data gathering and interaction design
- Building personas specifically to research, probe, and analyze PET-related factors
- Constructing designs and persuasion flows based on users' drives and blocks
- Validating the persuasiveness and emotional impact of designs
- Leveraging the research that continues to shape this evolving discipline
Domain 2: The PET Architect
This course moves from analysis to strategy and orchestration. Published outcomes include:
- Understanding why PET Design is critical to market strategies, product innovations, and application designs
- Creating a "Core PET Meme" that is tuned with executive intention, tuned with deep PET analysis insights, practical to transmit, and protected from maladaptation
- Creating a projection of a Core Meme as a phrase, behavior, or image
- Creating a "Persuasion Flow" centered on the Core PET Meme: selecting effective, synergistic, and practical methods, creating core chains through an interaction, ensuring momentum, ensuring final conversion, and embellishing with triggers
- Building in customer retention methods: pain control, habit, and engagement and commitment
- Applying PET Architecture methods to market strategies, new product and service innovations, and application and website designs
The practice-question allocation on this site across these two categories is editorial, not a reflection of official exam weighting. No weighted blueprint has been published, so no one can honestly tell you which area is "most heavily tested."
Persuasion Concepts You Need to Know Cold
HFI states that participants in The PET Architect must already be able to apply the persuasion engineering tools taught in PET Design. That list is effectively your core vocabulary, and it is the most concrete content inventory publicly available for this credential:
- Contrast principle, decidophobia, and "high price equals good"
- The power of free, and the rule of reciprocation
- Social proof and social learning
- The power of people we like, and pressure by people we like
- Diffusion of responsibility
- Scarcity
- Reason for request
- Over-categorization and correlation
- Overestimation of big unlikely events
- Divestiture aversion
- Feel good
- Priming and framing
- Conditioning and association
- Expectation
- Cognitive dissonance
- Obedience to authority
- Psychological reactance
- Momentum of "Yes" and compliance laddering
How the Exam Is Structured
Question types
Published assessment information indicates a mix of multiple-choice questions and application/essay questions. That alone distinguishes this credential from purely multiple-choice certifications: you must be able to write about persuasion design, not just recognize correct answers.
Scoring
HFI's issuer-controlled badge requires at least 70% on the multiple-choice portion plus passing essays. No numerical essay rubric and no current aggregate scoring formula have been verified. Our CDPA passing score article tracks what is and is not known.
Timing and delivery
HFI administers the exam online. The legacy Analyst exam-only page describes 90 minutes within a scheduled 24-hour access window. The current Architect package's timing has not been independently reconfirmed, so treat any specific current duration claim with caution. A separate platform or proctoring vendor is not publicly named, and open-book, calculator, adaptive, and current proctoring rules are unverified.
| Exam Detail | What Is Known |
|---|---|
| Issuer | Human Factors International (HFI Training) |
| Delivery | Online, administered by HFI |
| Format | Multiple-choice plus application/essay |
| Legacy duration | 90 minutes within a 24-hour access window |
| Badge threshold | At least 70% on multiple choice plus passing essays |
| Question count | Not publicly disclosed |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
Cost, Registration, and Retakes
The legacy Analyst exam-only page lists USD 475 and includes one free retake within six months. Current 2026 exam-only checkout pricing has not been confirmed, so verify the live price with HFI before budgeting. There is no published member versus non-member price split.
The other route is the training package. The current North American Architect package is listed at USD 3,290 for five days (40 hours), covering two courses, materials, the examination, and one reattempt within six months. The two courses total five training days, but that does not mean the exam itself is a five-day event. Our CDPA certification cost breakdown compares these routes in more detail, and the CDPA exam dates article covers scheduling.
| Route | Listed Price | What It Includes |
|---|---|---|
| Legacy Analyst exam-only page | USD 475 (current checkout unconfirmed) | Exam plus one free retake within six months |
| North American Architect package | USD 3,290 | Five days/40 hours, two courses, materials, exam, one reattempt within six months |
Eligibility and Prerequisites
The legacy exam-only page states no prerequisites. No mandatory degree, professional-experience hours, or references have been verified, and the package's 40 training hours are not a universal prerequisite for sitting the exam. That said, "no prerequisites" is not the same as "no preparation needed": the Architect course explicitly expects fluency with the PET Design toolset. Details live in our CDPA requirements guide.
Key Takeaway
Open eligibility lowers the barrier to registering, but the application and essay components mean self-study candidates should plan to write practice responses, not just review flashcards.
Who Benefits From This Credential
The PET framework is built for people who shape digital experiences and the strategies around them. The course outcomes point squarely at UX and interaction designers, researchers building personas, conversion and growth practitioners, product managers working on new products and services, and marketing strategists who need to translate executive intent into a transmissible core message. If you work in an HFI-influenced consultancy or agency, the credential may also signal alignment with that methodology.
Be realistic about career claims. No verified CDPA-specific salary data or hiring-demand statistics are available, so be skeptical of anyone quoting precise earnings. For a qualitative discussion, see the CDPA salary guide, CDPA jobs, and the is the CDPA certification worth it analysis.
What Is Not Publicly Verified
Responsible preparation means knowing the gaps. The following are not publicly verified for this credential:
- Exact question count, the multiple-choice versus essay split, and the scored versus unscored count
- A numbered exam version or weighted official blueprint
- The essay grading rubric and current aggregate scoring formula
- Pass rate (see what the data shows on CDPA pass rate)
- Certification validity period, renewal fee, and CEU/CPE requirements
In particular, do not assume HFI's other credentials' renewal or lifetime policies apply here. Ask HFI directly. Difficulty claims are similarly unanchored; our CDPA difficulty guide discusses how to reason about this without invented numbers.
A CDPA-Specific Study Sequence
Because the Architect course builds on PET Design, sequence your study in the same order. The outline below is a suggestion, not an official plan; adjust it to your background. A fuller treatment is in the CDPA study guide, and the CDPA cheat sheet is useful for last-minute review.
PET Design vocabulary
- Learn each persuasion principle in the prerequisite list and write one design example for each
- Practice spotting PET markers on live sites you use
PET Design methods
- Draft a persuasion strategy and a PET-focused persona
- Map drives and blocks to a persuasion flow for a real task
The PET Architect
- Write a Core PET Meme and test it against the four tuning criteria
- Build a full persuasion flow: core chains, momentum, conversion, triggers, retention
Integration and timed practice
- Take multiple-choice practice, then write timed essay answers
- Review weak principles and rehearse applying them to unfamiliar scenarios
When you are ready to test yourself, the CDPA practice tests let you drill both course categories, and the main practice site has more question sets. For course background, see CDPA training and the broader overviews at what CDPA certification is and CDPA certification.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified Digital Persuasion Analyst, the credential tied to Human Factors International's PET courses. Other credentials share the acronym but are unrelated.
No. Published assessment information includes both multiple-choice and application/essay questions. The badge requires at least 70% on multiple choice plus passing essays.
The legacy exam-only page lists no prerequisites, and the 40 training hours in the package are not a universal requirement. However, the content closely follows the two PET courses, so most candidates benefit from mastering that material.
The legacy exam-only page lists USD 475 with one free retake within six months, though current checkout pricing is unconfirmed. The current Architect package is listed at USD 3,290 for five days and includes materials, the exam, and one reattempt.
CDPA-specific validity, renewal fees, and continuing-education requirements are not publicly verified. Confirm directly with HFI rather than assuming policies from other credentials.