CDPA logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CDPA Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts

TL;DR
  • CDPA here means Certified Digital Persuasion Analyst, issued through HFI Training (Human Factors International).
  • Preparation maps to two courses: PET Design and The PET Architect. These are unweighted categories, not official exam domains.
  • The badge requires at least 70% on multiple choice plus passing essays; no numeric essay rubric is published.
  • Legacy exam-only terms list USD 475, 90 minutes in a 24-hour window, and one free retake within six months.

CDPA Cheat Sheet 2026: The One-Page Version

Key Takeaways

  • CDPA here means Certified Digital Persuasion Analyst, issued through HFI Training (Human Factors International).
  • Preparation maps to two courses: PET Design and The PET Architect. These are unweighted categories, not official exam domains.
  • The badge requires at least 70% on multiple choice plus passing essays; no numeric essay rubric is published.
  • Legacy exam-only terms list USD 475, 90 minutes in a 24-hour window, and one free retake within six months.
  • Pass rate, question count, version number, and renewal rules are not publicly disclosed, so avoid sources that claim them.

This page condenses what a candidate actually needs to hold in their head: the issuer, the two course areas, the named persuasion tools, the assessment style, and the pricing mechanics. It also flags what is not publicly confirmed, because a cheat sheet that guesses is worse than none. For a deeper walkthrough, pair it with the CDPA study guide and the CDPA exam domains guide.

Identity and Issuer: Who Runs This Credential

The Certified Digital Persuasion Analyst credential comes from Human Factors International, delivered through HFI Training. The issuer-served certification page and the /cdpa/ page both name the credential as Certified Digital Persuasion Analyst and tie its assessment to two HFI courses.

Naming caution: Some other HFI program materials use the label "Certified Digital Persuasion Architect." No formal renaming date or exact current exam equivalence between the Analyst and Architect labels has been established. This cheat sheet keeps the Analyst identity and its stated course relationship. If you are comparing sources, check which label they use before trusting their fee or timing numbers. If you are new to the acronym itself, see what CDPA stands for.

Because the acronym is shared by unrelated credentials elsewhere, always confirm that a study resource is about persuasion, emotion, and trust in digital design before relying on it.

Exam Facts at a Glance

ItemWhat Is Published
Issuer / administratorHuman Factors International via HFI Training; HFI administers the online exam
Proctoring/platform vendorNot publicly named
Legacy exam-only priceUSD 475 with one free retake within six months (current 2026 exam-only checkout price unconfirmed)
Legacy duration90 minutes within a scheduled 24-hour access window (current timing unverified)
Question typesMultiple choice plus application/essay questions
Badge thresholdAt least 70% on multiple choice plus passing essays
PrerequisitesLegacy exam-only page lists none
Exact question countNot publicly disclosed
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Weighted blueprint / version numberNone verified

What Is Not Publicly Verified

Candidates lose time chasing numbers that simply are not published. Treat any site that states the following as fact with suspicion:

  • An exact number of questions, or a multiple-choice versus essay split
  • A count of scored versus unscored items
  • A numerical essay rubric or a combined aggregate scoring formula
  • A pass rate (see our CDPA pass rate discussion for what can and cannot be said)
  • Whether the exam is open-book, calculator-permitted, or adaptive
  • Current proctoring rules
  • Certification validity period, renewal fee, or CEU/CPE requirements
Do not import other credentials' policies: HFI offers other certifications with their own lifetime or renewal policies. Those do not transfer to the Certified Digital Persuasion Analyst credential. Until HFI publishes CDPA-specific renewal terms, treat the validity question as unanswered and confirm directly with HFI Training.

Course 1: PET Design Must-Knows

The first course area is "How to Design for Persuasion, Emotion, and Trust," known as PET Design. These are unweighted preparation categories, not official weighted exam domains, so no one can honestly tell you which area is "worth the most points." Prepare both fully.

PET Design: Published Learning Outcomes

Expect the assessment to probe whether you can apply, not merely recite, these skills:

  • Applying core methods and tools for persuasive and emotional design, including creating a persuasion strategy
  • Evaluating sites on the basis of persuasion, emotion, and trust
  • Using PET Design markers to identify persuasion, emotion, or trust elements in your own prototypes or designs
  • Integrating PET-related requirements into data gathering and interaction design
  • Building personas specifically to research, probe, and analyze PET-related factors
  • Constructing designs and persuasion flows based on users' drives and blocks
  • Validating the persuasiveness and emotional impact of your designs
  • Leveraging the research that continues to shape this evolving discipline

Two phrases deserve special attention: drives and blocks (what pushes a user toward action and what stops them) and PET markers (observable design elements that signal persuasion, emotion, or trust). Application questions often ask you to spot these in a described interface.

Course 2: The PET Architect Must-Knows

The second course area, "The PET Architect," shifts from analyzing designs to building strategy. Its outcomes center on the Core PET Meme and the Persuasion Flow.

The Core PET Meme

A Core PET Meme is a phrase, behavior, or image that carries your persuasion strategy. The published outcomes say it must be:

  • Tuned with executive intention: aligned to what leadership actually wants
  • Tuned with deep PET analysis insights: grounded in your research
  • Practical to transmit: easy to communicate and repeat
  • Protected from maladaptation: resistant to being distorted as it spreads

You should also be able to create a projection of a Core Meme (as a phrase, behavior, or image).

The Persuasion Flow

Centered on your Core PET Meme, a Persuasion Flow involves:

  • Selecting effective, synergistic, and practical methods
  • Creating core chains through an interaction
  • Ensuring momentum
  • Ensuring final conversion
  • Embellishing with triggers

Retention and Application

Customer retention methods (sustained relationships) cover pain control, habit, and engagement and commitment. You then apply PET Architecture methods to market strategies, new product and service innovations, and application and website designs.

For how these two areas fit together as an exam map, see the complete domains guide.

The Persuasion Principles Checklist

HFI states that participants in The PET Architect must already be able to apply the persuasion engineering tools from the PET Design course. That makes the following list your highest-value memorization target. Know each by name, know what it does, and be ready to recognize it in a scenario.

  • Contrast principle
  • Decidophobia
  • High price equals good
  • The power of free
  • Social proof
  • Social learning
  • The power of people we like
  • Diffusion of responsibility
  • Scarcity
  • Reason for request
  • Over-categorization and correlation
  • Overestimation of big unlikely events
  • Rule of reciprocation
  • Divestiture aversion
  • Feel good
  • Priming and framing
  • Conditioning and association
  • Expectation
  • Cognitive dissonance
  • Pressure by people we like
  • Obedience to authority
  • Psychological reactance
  • Momentum of "Yes"
  • Compliance laddering

Key Takeaway

Group these into families to make them stick: social levers (social proof, social learning, people we like, obedience to authority), commitment levers (cognitive dissonance, momentum of "Yes," compliance laddering), value-perception levers (contrast, high price equals good, the power of free), and friction/resistance concepts (decidophobia, psychological reactance, divestiture aversion). Then practice naming which lever a described design is using.

Question Style and Passing Logic

The published assessment includes both multiple-choice and application/essay questions, so this is not a multiple-choice-only credential. The issuer-controlled badge requires at least 70% on the multiple-choice portion and passing essays. Because no numerical essay rubric or current aggregate formula is verified, you cannot "average out" a weak essay with a strong multiple-choice score, and you should not assume you can. Details on how scoring is described live in our CDPA passing score article.

What application and essay questions reward

  • Naming the specific principle at work, not just describing the behavior
  • Connecting a persuasion lever to a drive or a block in the user's journey
  • Explaining how you would validate persuasiveness or emotional impact
  • Showing how a Core PET Meme would carry through a Persuasion Flow to conversion

A useful drill: take any familiar checkout or signup flow, label each step with the principle in play, then identify where momentum could stall and what trigger or retention method you would add. Practicing questions in this mixed style is the fastest way to build fluency; the practice test site is built for exactly that kind of repetition. For a candid read on difficulty, see how hard the CDPA exam is.

Fees and Registration Mechanics

Pricing is where legacy and current information diverge, so read carefully.

PathPublished TermsStatus
Analyst exam-only (legacy page)USD 475, one free retake within six monthsCurrent 2026 checkout price unconfirmed
North American Architect packageUSD 3,290; five days / 40 hours, two courses, materials, examination, and one reattempt within six monthsCurrent published package
  • No member versus non-member price split is published.
  • The 40 training hours in the package are not a universal prerequisite for the exam.
  • The three-day and two-day courses total five training days; this does not make the exam five days long.
Budget tip: Because the exam-only price is a legacy figure, confirm the current amount with HFI Training before you budget. Our certification cost breakdown lays out how to compare the exam-only route with the package route, and CDPA requirements covers eligibility in detail.

A Domain-Ordered Review Schedule

Since neither course area is officially weighted, split your time by dependency rather than by guessed percentages. PET Design comes first because The PET Architect explicitly assumes you can already apply those tools.

Week 1

PET Design foundations

  • Memorize the full persuasion principles checklist above
  • Learn drives, blocks, and PET markers; label markers on real sites
Week 2

PET Design application

  • Practice persona building for PET factors and persuasion-flow construction
  • Write short answers on validating persuasiveness and emotional impact
Week 3

The PET Architect

  • Draft a Core PET Meme meeting all four criteria
  • Map a Persuasion Flow: core chains, momentum, conversion, triggers
Week 4

Retention and mixed review

  • Cover pain control, habit, engagement and commitment
  • Take mixed multiple-choice and written practice; revisit weak principles

If you want a fuller plan, the study guide expands this outline.

Quick FAQ

Are PET Design and The PET Architect official exam domains?

No. They are the two named HFI courses linked to the Analyst examination and are used here as unweighted preparation categories. No official weighted blueprint has been verified, so no area can be called the highest-weighted.

What score do I need to earn the badge?

The published assessment requires at least 70% on multiple choice plus passing essays. No numerical essay rubric or combined scoring formula has been verified.

Are there prerequisites?

The legacy exam-only page lists none, and no mandatory degree, experience hours, or references have been verified. The package's 40 training hours are not a universal prerequisite.

How long is the exam?

The legacy Analyst page describes 90 minutes within a scheduled 24-hour access window. Current timing is not independently reconfirmed, so verify with HFI Training before test day.

Does the credential expire?

CDPA-specific validity, renewal fees, and CEU/CPE requirements are not publicly verified. Do not assume policies from other HFI credentials apply; ask HFI directly.

Once you have the facts straight, the remaining work is repetition. Review the principles checklist daily, rehearse mixed-format questions, and use the CDPA practice tests to find the gaps before the real attempt.

Ready to pass your CDPA exam?

Put this into practice with free CDPA questions across every exam domain.