CDPA logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CDPA Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass

TL;DR
  • The issuer-controlled badge requires at least 70% on the multiple-choice portion plus passing essays.
  • No numerical essay rubric or aggregate scoring formula has been publicly verified.
  • Legacy exam-only terms list USD 475 with one free retake within six months.
  • Pass rate, question count and scored/unscored item split are not publicly disclosed.

What "Passing" Means for This Credential

If you are searching for a single scaled score, such as a number out of 500 or 1,000, you will not find one for the Certified Digital Persuasion Analyst (CDPA) credential. The exam is administered online by Human Factors International (HFI) through HFI Training, and its published assessment design is a combination of multiple-choice questions and application/essay questions. That hybrid format changes what "passing" means: you are not clearing one cut score, you are satisfying two conditions at once.

According to the issuer-controlled certification materials, earning the badge requires at least 70% on the multiple-choice portion and passing essays. Both requirements stand independently as published. A strong multiple-choice result does not erase a failing essay, and strong essays do not rescue a multiple-choice score below the threshold.

Why this matters for your strategy: Many candidates treat certification exams as pure recall tests. This one explicitly includes application and essay questions, so you need to be able to demonstrate persuasion-design reasoning in writing, not only recognize correct options. If you want a sense of how this compares with other certification hurdles, see our guide on how hard the CDPA exam is.

The 70% Multiple-Choice Threshold

The one concrete number in the published scoring language is 70% on multiple choice. Here is what we can and cannot say about it.

What is established

  • The badge requires at least 70% on the multiple-choice portion.
  • This is stated as a minimum, so treat 70% as the floor, not a target.
  • It applies to the multiple-choice portion specifically, not to the entire exam as a blended average.

What is not established

  • The total number of multiple-choice questions, so we cannot translate 70% into a specific count of correct answers.
  • Whether unscored or pretest items exist, and how many.
  • Whether the multiple-choice score is combined with essay performance in any aggregate formula.

Because the question count is not publicly disclosed, avoid any source that claims you need "X correct answers out of Y." Without a published item count, such figures would be invented. The safe interpretation is simple: aim comfortably above 70% in your practice work so that normal exam-day variance does not push you under the line. You can check your readiness with the CDPA practice tests on the main site.

Passing the Application and Essay Portion

The essay component is where candidates have the least information, and where preparation habits matter most. The published language says you must pass the essays, but no numerical essay rubric, point scale, or aggregate scoring formula has been verified. Treat anyone quoting a specific essay score cutoff with skepticism.

What you can infer from the course materials is the kind of reasoning the essays are likely to reward. Both courses linked to the Analyst examination are applied. They emphasize doing things with persuasion principles rather than reciting definitions. The published PET Design outcomes include:

  • Creating a persuasion strategy using core methods and tools for persuasive and emotional design.
  • Evaluating sites on the basis of persuasion, emotion and trust.
  • Using PET Design markers to identify persuasion, emotion or trust design elements in prototypes or designs.
  • Constructing designs and persuasion flows based on users' drives and blocks.
  • Validating the persuasiveness and emotional impact of your designs.
Practical reading of "application/essay": Expect to be asked to analyze or construct something, such as evaluating a design for persuasion, emotion and trust or sketching a persuasion flow, and to justify your reasoning in your own words. The exact prompts are not public, so practice explaining your reasoning clearly and concisely rather than memorizing model answers.

What Is Not Published (and Why It Matters)

A trustworthy passing-score article has to be clear about gaps. The following items are not publicly verified for the Certified Digital Persuasion Analyst credential, and we do not guess at them:

ItemStatus
Multiple-choice minimumAt least 70% (issuer-controlled badge requirement)
Essay requirementMust pass; no numerical rubric verified
Aggregate scoring formulaNot verified
Total question countNot publicly disclosed
Multiple-choice vs. essay splitNot publicly disclosed
Scored vs. unscored itemsNot publicly disclosed
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Weighted exam blueprintNone verified

For a deeper look at what the available evidence does and does not tell us about outcomes, read our breakdown of the CDPA pass rate. In short, any specific percentage of candidates who pass that you encounter online is not backed by a public issuer disclosure.

Format, Timing and Access Window

The legacy Analyst exam-only page describes a 90-minute exam within a scheduled 24-hour access window, with no exam prerequisites. Those are issuer-served legacy-page terms. The current administration of the Architect-labeled package has not been independently reconfirmed for timing or item count, so confirm the live details with HFI when you register.

Several rules that candidates often ask about are also unverified: whether the exam is open-book, whether a calculator is allowed, whether it is adaptive, and what the current proctoring requirements are. HFI administers the online exam, and a separate platform or proctoring vendor is not publicly named. Do not assume any of these conditions; check them before test day. See our overview of CDPA exam dates and scheduling for the practical side of booking.

Key Takeaway

The 24-hour access window is not a 24-hour exam. Under the legacy terms, you have 90 minutes of exam time inside a scheduled window, so plan a quiet, uninterrupted block rather than assuming you can pause and return.

Where Your Points Come From: Two Course Areas

There is no published weighted blueprint, so there is no official "this domain is worth X%" breakdown, and no highest-weighted domain is known. What does exist are two HFI courses explicitly linked to the Analyst examination. We use them as unweighted preparation categories. For a fuller walkthrough, see our CDPA exam domains guide.

Domain 1: How to Design for Persuasion, Emotion, and Trust (PET Design)

This course area covers the applied methods behind persuasive and emotional design. Since the essays likely draw on applied reasoning, this is where you build the vocabulary and analysis habits you will need in writing.

  • Creating a persuasion strategy and evaluating sites for persuasion, emotion and trust.
  • Using PET Design markers to identify elements in prototypes and designs.
  • Integrating PET-related requirements into data gathering and interaction design.
  • Building personas to research, probe and analyze PET-related factors.
  • Validating the persuasiveness and emotional impact of designs.

Domain 2: The PET Architect

This course area moves from individual design elements to strategy and orchestration. It assumes you can already apply the persuasion engineering tools from PET Design.

  • Creating a "Core PET Meme" that is tuned with executive intention, tuned with deep PET analysis insights, practical to transmit and protected from maladaptation.
  • Building a "Persuasion Flow" centered on the Core PET Meme: selecting effective, synergistic methods, creating core chains through an interaction, ensuring momentum and final conversion, and embellishing with triggers.
  • Building in retention methods: pain control, habit, engagement and commitment.
  • Applying PET Architecture to market strategies, new product and service innovations, and application and website designs.

Prerequisite concepts that feed both areas

The PET Architect course expects you to apply the persuasion engineering tools from PET Design. That list is a useful checklist for multiple-choice recognition and essay examples alike:

  • Contrast principle, rule of reciprocation, and the power of free
  • Social proof, social learning, and the power of people we like
  • Scarcity, psychological reactance, and decidophobia
  • Priming and framing, conditioning and association, and expectation
  • Cognitive dissonance, momentum of "Yes," and compliance laddering
  • Obedience to authority, diffusion of responsibility, and divestiture aversion
  • Reason for request, over-categorization and correlation, and overestimation of big unlikely events
  • High price equals good, and feel good

Because these tools appear in the Architect course's recommended prior knowledge, make sure you can do more than define each one. Be ready to explain when a principle helps a persuasion flow and when it creates friction or backlash, for example how scarcity and psychological reactance can pull in opposite directions. Our CDPA study guide and one-page cheat sheet are good companions for consolidating this list.

Retake Mechanics and Fees

Because the passing standard has two parts, it helps to know what a failed attempt costs. The legacy Analyst exam-only page lists USD 475 with one free retake within six months. However, current 2026 exam-only checkout pricing is unconfirmed, so verify the live price before you pay.

Separately, the current North American Architect package is listed at USD 3,290 for five days (40 hours), including two courses, materials, the examination and one reattempt within six months. Note that the three-day and two-day courses total five training days. They do not create a five-day examination. No member/non-member price split is published. For a full cost picture, see our CDPA certification cost breakdown.

PathPublished termsCaveat
Legacy Analyst exam-onlyUSD 475; one free retake within six months; no prerequisitesCurrent 2026 checkout pricing unconfirmed
Architect package (North America)USD 3,290; five days/40 hours; two courses, materials, exam, one reattempt within six monthsArchitect labeling; exact exam equivalence not established
Use the retake wisely: A free reattempt inside six months is a safety net, not a plan. If you do not pass the first time, you will likely not receive a granular diagnostic, so keep your own notes right after the exam on which topics and essay prompts felt weakest while the memory is fresh.

Building a Prep Plan Around the Score

Since the only hard numeric target is 70% on multiple choice, and the essays are a separate gate, a sensible plan prepares both skills in parallel. Here is one way to sequence it around the two course areas. It assumes roughly three weeks; adjust to your own experience with persuasion design.

Week 1

PET Design foundations

  • Work through the persuasion engineering tools list until you can explain each one in a sentence and give a design example.
  • Practice evaluating a real site for persuasion, emotion and trust, writing a short paragraph for each.
  • Why first: these tools are the prerequisite vocabulary for everything in the Architect course.
Week 2

The PET Architect strategy layer

  • Draft a Core PET Meme for a product you know, checking it against the four criteria: executive intention, deep PET analysis, practical to transmit, protected from maladaptation.
  • Sketch a persuasion flow with core chains, momentum, final conversion and triggers.
  • Add retention thinking: pain control, habit, engagement and commitment.
Week 3

Integration and timed practice

  • Take timed multiple-choice sets, aiming well above 70% so the threshold is a buffer, not a target.
  • Write timed essay-style answers that connect a principle to a design decision and justify it.
  • Review misses by principle, not by question, to find conceptual gaps.

If you want hands-on volume for the multiple-choice side, the practice question bank is built to mirror the two course areas, though note that the allocation of practice questions across areas is editorial rather than an official weighting.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the CDPA passing score?

The published requirement for the issuer-controlled badge is at least 70% on the multiple-choice portion plus passing the essays. No single scaled score or aggregate formula has been verified.

How many questions do I need to answer correctly?

That cannot be stated, because the total question count and the multiple-choice versus essay split are not publicly disclosed. Aim comfortably above 70% in practice rather than targeting a specific number of items.

Is there a published essay grading rubric?

No numerical essay rubric has been verified. What is published is that application/essay questions exist and that you must pass them. Practice explaining persuasion-design reasoning clearly and with justification.

What happens if I do not pass on the first try?

Under the legacy exam-only terms, one free retake is available within six months. The Architect package also lists one reattempt within six months. Confirm current terms with HFI before purchasing, as 2026 exam-only pricing is unconfirmed.

Do I need prior experience or training to sit the exam?

The legacy exam-only page lists no prerequisites, and no mandatory degree, experience hours or references have been verified. The package's 40 training hours are not a universal prerequisite. See our CDPA requirements guide for more detail.

The bottom line: treat 70% on multiple choice as the one firm number, treat the essays as an equally real gate with an unpublished rubric, and prepare across both PET Design and The PET Architect. Whatever you decide about the credential itself, our ROI analysis can help you weigh the investment before you register.

Ready to pass your CDPA exam?

Put this into practice with free CDPA questions across every exam domain.