CDPA logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is CDPA?

TL;DR
  • CDPA here means Certified Digital Persuasion Analyst, issued through Human Factors International (HFI Training).
  • Preparation maps to two courses: Persuasion, Emotion and Trust in Design (PET Design) and The PET Architect.
  • The assessment combines multiple-choice and application/essay questions; the badge requires at least 70% on multiple choice plus passing essays.
  • The legacy Analyst exam-only page lists USD 475, no prerequisites, and one free retake within six months.

The Short Answer: What CDPA Means Here

On this site, CDPA stands for Certified Digital Persuasion Analyst. It is a professional certification in persuasion, emotion, and trust (often abbreviated PET) as applied to the design of websites, applications, products, and marketing strategies. The focus is on how people are moved to act, hesitate, or abandon, and on how designers and strategists can analyze and shape those moments deliberately.

The acronym is shared by other credentials in unrelated fields. Everything in this article concerns only the HFI-issued persuasion credential. If you are comparing it against other uses of the abbreviation, see our explainers on what CDPA stands for and CDPA meaning to confirm you are researching the right program.

Who Issues It and the Analyst/Architect Naming Question

The certification is offered by Human Factors International through its training arm, HFI Training. HFI administers the online exam; no separate testing or proctoring vendor is publicly named.

A naming wrinkle worth knowing: HFI's certification page and its /cdpa/ page use the title Certified Digital Persuasion Analyst, while other program materials use Certified Digital Persuasion Architect. No formal renaming date has been established, and the exact current exam equivalence between the two labels is not verified. Our preparation scope follows the Analyst page and its two linked PET courses.

Practically, this means you should confirm with HFI which title and package you are purchasing before you pay. The Analyst labeling and the Architect labeling appear in different places in HFI's materials, and the details of one (such as current package pricing) should not be assumed to apply to the other without checking.

The Two Courses Behind the Credential

The Analyst certification is tied to two HFI courses. We treat these as the two preparation categories for the exam. They are course-based categories, not official weighted exam domains, and no weighted blueprint has been published. For a deeper walkthrough, see our complete guide to the CDPA content areas.

Domain 1: How to Design for Persuasion, Emotion, and Trust (PET Design)

The foundational course. It teaches core methods and tools for persuasive and emotional design. Published learning outcomes include:

  • Creating a persuasion strategy using core PET methods and tools
  • Evaluating sites on the basis of persuasion, emotion, and trust
  • Using PET Design markers to spot persuasion, emotion, or trust elements in your own prototypes
  • Integrating PET requirements into data gathering and interaction design
  • Building personas specifically to research and probe PET-related factors
  • Constructing designs and persuasion flows based on users' drives and blocks
  • Validating the persuasiveness and emotional impact of designs
  • Leveraging the research that continues to shape this evolving discipline

Domain 2: The PET Architect

The strategic, applied course. It assumes you can already use the persuasion tools from PET Design and moves into architecting whole experiences. Published learning outcomes include:

  • Understanding why PET Design matters in market strategy, product innovation, and application design
  • Creating a "Core PET Meme" that is tuned with executive intention, tuned with deep PET analysis insights, practical to transmit, and protected from maladaptation
  • Projecting the Core Meme as a phrase, behavior, or image
  • Creating a "Persuasion Flow" centered on the Core PET Meme: selecting effective, synergistic, and practical methods, creating core chains through an interaction, ensuring momentum and final conversion, and embellishing with triggers
  • Building in customer retention methods: pain control, habit, and engagement and commitment
  • Applying PET Architecture to market strategies, new product and service innovations, and application and website designs

Notice how the two domains differ in altitude. Domain 1 is about the individual levers and how to analyze a design with them. Domain 2 is about assembling those levers into a coherent, sustained strategy. Exam preparation should reflect that progression.

The Persuasion Toolkit You Need to Know

HFI states that participants in The PET Architect course must be able to apply the persuasion engineering tools from PET Design. That list is the closest thing to a concrete vocabulary checklist for this credential. It includes:

  • Contrast principle
  • Decidophobia
  • High price equals good
  • The power of free
  • Social proof and social learning
  • The power of people we like
  • Diffusion of responsibility
  • Scarcity
  • Reason for request
  • Over-categorization and correlation
  • Overestimation of big unlikely events
  • Rule of reciprocation
  • Divestiture aversion
  • Feel good
  • Priming and framing
  • Conditioning and association
  • Expectation
  • Cognitive dissonance
  • Pressure by people we like
  • Obedience to authority
  • Psychological reactance
  • Momentum of "Yes"
  • Compliance laddering
Why memorizing definitions is not enough: Because the assessment includes application and essay questions, you should be able to take a scenario, such as a checkout page, a signup flow, or a pricing table, and identify which of these principles are at work, which are missing, and how you would sequence them. Practice naming a principle and then justifying its placement in a flow.

Pairing tools for flow design

The Architect course emphasizes synergistic methods and chains through an interaction. Rehearse combinations, for example how a small initial agreement (momentum of "Yes", compliance laddering) can set up a larger request, or how reciprocation and social proof reinforce each other. Also be ready to discuss the ethical edge of these tools, since reactance and loss of trust are the failure modes of heavy-handed persuasion.

How the Assessment Works

Published information indicates the assessment includes multiple-choice questions and application/essay questions. It is not a multiple-choice-only credential. The issuer-controlled badge requires at least 70% on the multiple-choice portion plus passing essays. No numerical essay rubric and no current aggregate scoring formula have been verified, so treat any specific "total score needed" claim with caution. Our passing score guide covers what is and is not known.

Exam ElementWhat Is Published
Question typesMultiple choice plus application/essay
Multiple-choice thresholdAt least 70% for the badge
Essay requirementMust pass; numerical rubric not published
Legacy duration90 minutes within a scheduled 24-hour access window (legacy Analyst page)
Current timingNot independently reconfirmed
Question count and splitNot publicly disclosed
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Open-book, calculator, adaptive, proctoring rulesNot verified

One common point of confusion: the training package for the Architect program spans five days (a three-day course and a two-day course). That is the length of the training, not the length of the exam. For the difficulty question, our article on how hard the CDPA exam is discusses what can reasonably be said given the limited published data, and our pass rate article explains why no honest figure exists.

Cost, Access, and Retakes

Two pricing reference points exist, and they should not be conflated.

  • Legacy Analyst exam-only page: lists USD 475 with one free retake within six months. Current 2026 exam-only checkout pricing is unconfirmed.
  • Current North American Architect package: USD 3,290 for five days (40 hours), two courses, materials, the examination, and one reattempt within six months.

No member versus non-member price split is published. Because the Analyst and Architect labels appear in different materials, verify at checkout exactly what your payment includes. For a full breakdown of what each route may cost, see our CDPA certification cost guide.

Key Takeaway

The roughly USD 475 figure applies to the legacy exam-only listing, while USD 3,290 covers a full training-plus-exam package. Treat these as two different products and confirm current pricing with HFI before budgeting.

Prerequisites and Eligibility

The legacy Analyst exam page states no exam prerequisites. No mandatory degree, professional-experience hours, or references have been verified. The 40 training hours in the Architect package are part of that package, not a universal requirement to sit for the exam. That said, the course materials assume familiarity with the PET Design toolkit before tackling PET Architecture, so self-study candidates should treat Domain 1 as a de facto foundation. More on eligibility is in our CDPA requirements article.

Who Benefits From This Certification

The curriculum targets people who shape digital experiences and the strategies behind them. Course outcomes explicitly reach into market strategy, new product and service innovation, and application and website design, so the natural audience includes:

  • UX designers and researchers who want a structured way to evaluate and design for emotion and trust, including persona building focused on PET factors
  • Conversion and growth specialists responsible for flows, funnels, and retention
  • Product managers and strategists who define the "Core PET Meme" and persuasion flow behind a product
  • Marketers and content strategists who need to connect messaging to behavior

No verified salary data or job-posting statistics exist for this specific credential, so we avoid quoting numbers. Our salary guide and CDPA jobs overview discuss how to think about the credential's value qualitatively, and the worth-it analysis helps you weigh cost against your own career goals.

What Is Not Publicly Verified

Honest preparation means knowing the gaps. As of the reviewed public sources, the following are not publicly established for this credential:

  • Exact question count and the multiple-choice versus essay split
  • The scored versus unscored item breakdown
  • Official weighted domains or a numbered exam version
  • The pass rate
  • The numerical essay rubric and the current aggregate scoring formula
  • Certification validity period, renewal fee, and any CEU/CPE requirements
  • Whether the exam is open-book, adaptive, or subject to specific proctoring rules

Do not assume this credential follows the lifetime or renewal policies of other HFI certifications. If renewal matters to your decision, ask HFI directly. Also note that the scheduling mechanics are only partly documented; our exam dates guide covers what is known about access windows.

A Domain-Ordered Preparation Sequence

Because the two domains build on each other, sequence your study accordingly rather than jumping between them. The allocation below is editorial guidance, not an official weighting.

Week 1

PET Design vocabulary

  • Learn each principle in the persuasion toolkit with a one-line definition and a digital example
  • Practice labeling real websites with the principles they use
Week 2

PET Design methods

  • Work through persona building for PET factors and drives-and-blocks flow design
  • Draft short written evaluations of a site's persuasion, emotion, and trust
Week 3

The PET Architect

  • Define a Core PET Meme for a sample product and test it against the four tuning criteria
  • Map a persuasion flow with momentum, conversion, triggers, and retention methods
Week 4

Integration and essays

  • Write timed application-style responses combining both domains
  • Take practice questions and review every missed principle

For a fuller study framework, see our CDPA study guide and the one-page CDPA cheat sheet, and use the CDPA practice tests to check your recall of the toolkit under realistic conditions. If you want broader context on the credential itself, our CDPA certification overview and CDPA training page are good next steps, and you can return to the main practice site any time to drill questions.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CDPA stand for in this context?

It stands for Certified Digital Persuasion Analyst, a credential issued through Human Factors International (HFI Training) in persuasion, emotion, and trust design. It is unrelated to other credentials that share the acronym.

Is the CDPA exam multiple choice only?

No. Published assessment information includes both multiple-choice and application/essay questions. The badge requires at least 70% on multiple choice plus passing essays, though the essay rubric and aggregate formula are not publicly detailed.

Do I need to take the training courses to sit for the exam?

The legacy Analyst exam-only page lists no prerequisites, and the 40 training hours in the Architect package are not a universal requirement. The courses do supply the preparation content, so self-study candidates should cover both.

How much does it cost?

The legacy exam-only page lists USD 475 with one free retake within six months, though current exam-only pricing is unconfirmed. The current North American Architect package is USD 3,290 and includes training, materials, the exam, and one reattempt.

Is there a published pass rate or official domain weighting?

No. The pass rate is not publicly disclosed, and no weighted exam blueprint has been verified. The two domains here are course-based preparation categories, not official weighted exam domains.

Ready to pass your CDPA exam?

Put this into practice with free CDPA questions across every exam domain.