CDPA logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is A CDPA?

TL;DR
  • CDPA here means Certified Digital Persuasion Analyst, issued through Human Factors International (HFI Training).
  • The content rests on two courses: PET Design and The PET Architect, covering persuasion, emotion and trust.
  • Assessment includes multiple-choice plus application/essay questions; the badge requires at least 70% on multiple choice and passing essays.
  • The legacy Analyst exam-only page lists USD 475, no prerequisites, and one free retake within six months.

The Plain Answer: What a CDPA Is

A CDPA, in the context of this site, is a Certified Digital Persuasion Analyst: a professional credential offered by Human Factors International through HFI Training. It certifies that a practitioner can analyze and design digital experiences using a structured approach to persuasion, emotion and trust, which HFI abbreviates as PET.

The acronym "CDPA" is shared by several unrelated credentials in other fields, which causes real confusion in search results. If you arrived looking for a data-privacy, drug-program, or accounting-related certification, this is a different thing entirely. Everything on this page concerns the HFI digital persuasion credential only. For other angles on the same question, see our companion explainers on what CDPA stands for and the meaning of CDPA.

In practical terms, a person holding this credential is expected to look at a website, application or marketing flow and answer questions such as: Where does this design persuade, where does it fail to, which emotional drivers is it engaging, and what is blocking users from converting? Then, crucially, they are expected to build or recommend designs that fix those problems in a defensible, research-informed way.

Analyst vs. Architect: Reading the Labels Carefully

One of the most important things to understand before you spend money is a labeling wrinkle in HFI's own materials. The issuer-served certification pages and the /cdpa/ page name Certified Digital Persuasion Analyst. Other program materials use Certified Digital Persuasion Architect. No formal renaming date, and no verified statement of exact current exam equivalence between the two labels, has been established.

Why this matters: If you are buying a package, confirm in writing with HFI exactly which credential title, exam and course bundle you are purchasing. This preparation material is tied to the Analyst page and its two PET courses. Do not assume an Architect package and an Analyst exam-only purchase are identical products with identical terms.

The pricing information illustrates the divergence. The legacy Analyst exam-only page lists USD 475, while a current North American Architect package is listed at USD 3,290 for five days or 40 hours of training, two courses, materials, the examination and one reattempt within six months. Those are different offerings, and our CDPA certification cost breakdown goes deeper on how to compare them.

The PET Framework Behind the Credential

PET stands for persuasion, emotion and trust. The framework treats digital design as something more than usability. A site can be easy to use and still fail to move people to act. The CDPA content asks you to understand why people comply, hesitate, or abandon, and to engineer designs accordingly.

HFI's published materials list a body of persuasion principles that participants of the advanced course are expected to already be able to apply. These are the working vocabulary of the credential:

  • Contrast principle, scarcity, and the power of free
  • Social proof and social learning
  • Rule of reciprocation and the power of people we like
  • Obedience to authority and diffusion of responsibility
  • Cognitive dissonance, momentum of "Yes" and compliance laddering
  • Priming and framing, conditioning and association, expectation
  • Psychological reactance, decidophobia and divestiture aversion
  • Over-categorization and correlation, and overestimation of big unlikely events
  • "High price equals good," "feel good," and pressure by people we like

Knowing the names is not enough. The assessment includes application-style questions, so you should be able to spot a principle at work in a described interface and explain why it works or backfires. Our CDPA cheat sheet is a quick way to review this vocabulary.

The Two Courses That Define the Content

Unlike many certifications, there is no published weighted blueprint for this one. Instead, the content is organized by the two HFI courses explicitly linked to the Analyst examination. Treat them as two unweighted preparation categories, not official exam domains with percentages. Our CDPA exam domains guide walks through both in more detail.

Domain 1: How to Design for Persuasion, Emotion, and Trust (PET Design)

This is the analytical and methodological foundation. HFI's published learning outcomes center on applying core methods and tools for persuasive and emotional design.

  • Creating a persuasion strategy and evaluating sites for persuasion, emotion and trust
  • Using PET Design markers to identify persuasion, emotion or trust elements in your own prototypes
  • Integrating PET requirements into data gathering and interaction design
  • Building personas specifically to research, probe and analyze PET-related factors
  • Constructing designs and persuasion flows based on users' drives and blocks
  • Validating the persuasiveness and emotional impact of designs
  • Leveraging the research that continues to shape this evolving discipline

Domain 2: The PET Architect

This course moves from analysis to strategy and orchestration, applying PET across markets, products and applications.

  • Understanding why PET Design is critical to market strategy, product innovation and application design
  • Creating a "Core PET Meme" that is tuned with executive intention, tuned with deep PET analysis insights, practical to transmit, and protected from maladaptation
  • Projecting a core meme as a phrase, behavior or image
  • Creating a "Persuasion Flow" centered on the core meme: selecting effective, synergistic and practical methods, creating core chains through an interaction, ensuring momentum and final conversion, and embellishing with triggers
  • Building in customer retention: pain control, habit, and engagement and commitment
  • Applying PET Architecture to market strategies, new products and services, and application and website designs

Key Takeaway

The first course teaches you to diagnose and design at the page and flow level; the second teaches you to build a unifying persuasive idea (the Core PET Meme) and carry it through an entire customer journey, including retention. Expect questions that require you to connect the two.

How the Assessment Works

HFI administers the online exam. A separate platform or proctoring vendor is not publicly named, and current proctoring, open-book, calculator and adaptive-testing rules have not been verified, so confirm them directly when you register.

What the published materials do establish is the assessment style. It includes multiple-choice questions and application or essay questions. The issuer-controlled badge requires at least 70% on the multiple-choice portion plus passing essays. No numerical essay rubric and no current aggregate scoring formula has been verified. This is not a multiple-choice-only credential, and you should not prepare for it as if it were.

ItemWhat is published
AdministratorHFI (online exam); proctoring vendor not publicly named
Question typesMultiple choice plus application/essay
Multiple-choice thresholdAt least 70%, plus passing essays
Legacy duration90 minutes within a scheduled 24-hour access window
Current durationNot independently reconfirmed
Question count and splitNot publicly disclosed
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Weighted blueprintNone verified

Because the duration figure comes from a legacy Analyst page, treat it as a reference point, not a guarantee. We cover the scoring side in our passing score article, and the difficulty question in how hard the CDPA exam is.

Fees, Retakes and Registration Mechanics

The legacy Analyst exam-only page lists USD 475 with one free retake within six months. Current 2026 exam-only checkout pricing is unconfirmed, so verify the live price before budgeting. The Architect package, by contrast, bundles two courses, materials, the examination and one reattempt within six months for a listed USD 3,290 in North America.

Two details are worth noting. First, no member versus non-member price split has been published. Second, the five training days (a three-day course plus a two-day course) do not create a five-day examination; the training and the exam are separate events.

On eligibility, the legacy exam-only page states no prerequisites, and no mandatory degree, professional-experience hours or references have been verified. The package's 40 training hours are a feature of that bundle, not a universal requirement. Details on this are in our CDPA requirements guide, and scheduling questions are addressed in CDPA exam dates.

Budgeting caution: The gap between the legacy exam-only price and the full training package is large. Decide whether you need the instructor-led courses or are confident preparing independently, then confirm current pricing and retake terms with HFI before paying.

Who Uses This Skill Set

HFI does not publish a list of employers who require this credential, and we will not invent one. What can be said qualitatively is that PET skills map onto roles where design decisions directly affect behavior and conversion:

  • UX researchers and designers responsible for conversion-sensitive flows
  • Digital product managers shaping onboarding, retention and engagement
  • E-commerce and marketing teams optimizing funnels and checkout
  • Consultants and agency strategists building persuasion strategies for clients
  • Content and interaction designers working on trust signals and emotional tone

Because the credential emphasizes both analysis and strategy, it tends to suit people who already work near design, research or growth and want a formal, structured framework. For the career angle, see our articles on CDPA jobs, CDPA salary expectations and whether the certification is worth it.

What Is Not Publicly Confirmed

Honest preparation means knowing the gaps. The following are not publicly verified for the Certified Digital Persuasion Analyst credential:

  • The exact number of questions and the multiple-choice versus essay split
  • Scored versus unscored item counts
  • A numbered exam version or a weighted official blueprint
  • A pass rate (see our pass rate discussion for why any specific figure should be treated skeptically)
  • Credential validity period, renewal fees and continuing-education requirements
  • Current proctoring, open-book and calculator policies

Do not assume that HFI's other credentials' lifetime or renewal policies apply here. If a vendor or forum post quotes a precise pass rate or renewal fee for this credential, ask for the primary source.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Two Courses

Since there is no weighting to guide emphasis, split your time by the logical dependency between the two courses: the principles and PET Design methods come first because the Architect course assumes you can already apply them. A sensible four-week arrangement looks like this. For a fuller plan, see the CDPA study guide.

Week 1

Persuasion principles

  • Memorize and define each principle from the prior-knowledge list
  • Practice spotting each one in real websites you use
Week 2

PET Design methods

  • Work through persona building, PET markers, and drives-and-blocks flows
  • Draft a short persuasion strategy for a site you know well
Week 3

The PET Architect

  • Practice writing a Core PET Meme and a Persuasion Flow with momentum, conversion and triggers
  • Cover retention: pain control, habit, engagement and commitment
Week 4

Integration and essays

  • Take timed practice sets on the main practice test site
  • Write full essay-style answers, since essays must be passed separately from multiple choice

The reason essay practice gets its own week is structural: the 70% multiple-choice threshold is only one half of the pass condition. Candidates who drill only recall questions risk being caught out by application prompts. Use the CDPA practice questions to test both modes, and revisit weak principles from Week 1 as needed.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a CDPA?

Here, a CDPA is a Certified Digital Persuasion Analyst, a credential offered through Human Factors International's HFI Training that certifies skill in analyzing and designing for persuasion, emotion and trust. See also our overview of what CDPA certification is.

Is the CDPA the same as the Certified Digital Persuasion Architect?

HFI materials use both labels, but no formal renaming date or exact current exam equivalence has been verified. Confirm the exact title and package with HFI before purchasing.

Do I need prerequisites to sit the exam?

The legacy Analyst exam-only page states no prerequisites, and no mandatory degree or experience hours have been verified. The 40 training hours in the Architect package are not a universal requirement.

What score do I need to pass?

The issuer-controlled badge requires at least 70% on the multiple-choice portion plus passing essays. No numerical essay rubric or aggregate formula has been verified.

How much does it cost and can I retake it?

The legacy exam-only page lists USD 475 with one free retake within six months; current exam-only pricing is unconfirmed. The Architect package is listed at USD 3,290 and includes one reattempt within six months.

For the broader landscape, you may also want our general articles on what a CDPA is, the certification overview and CDPA training.

Ready to pass your CDPA exam?

Put this into practice with free CDPA questions across every exam domain.